Skip navigation

Okay—the big question everyone asks me is: how much did I weigh when I started? I work for the state I live in, at an office job, and most of the people I work with are women in their late 50s. When it became apparent that I was losing weight (at around 150 lbs lost), I started to get the question.

I think they were trying to get me alone and away from the herd. They always seemed to pounce when I was in the elevator. The conversation always went…”Hi, can I ask you something personal?” I’d think, could I stop you? But I’d say with a smile, “Sure.” “You seem to be losing some weight…how much have you lost?” I’d tell them and they’d always ask, “What did you weigh when you started?” …I don’t know, what is your bra size?

So, the answer is, 599.9 pounds. I can say it now because I’ve lost 338 lbs. I currently weigh 262 lbs.

The single best question I’ve gotten so far was, “Did you do it alone?” I told her, if I could have paid someone to do it for me, I would have. No matter if you join a support group or have gastric bypass, you still do it alone. Since I didn’t like the idea of talking about my “relationship with food” and didn’t like the idea of getting cut up like Buford Pusser, I decided to take matters into my own hands and put down the fork.

I also get the question as to why I started. I wish I had a great answer to this question. Everyone wants to hear me get a bit choked up and say I did it for my daughter. Or they want to hear about my concern for my health. Both of these things are true, but the real answer is that I am a bit of a flirt and while I am married, I like attention from women. Maybe it’s my midlife crisis. I could have just bought a Harley and saved myself a bit of work. And at the end of the day…I just felt like it was time to make a change.

Since I started this journey, many things have changed over the last 3 1/2 years. Not only am I half the man I used to be, my relationships with people and how they react to me have changed.

My plan with this blog is to share what I have done and what has worked for me. I hope to focus on my weight loss, but I am sure my mind will wander into other aspects of this change in my life.

Paul

Leave a Reply

