Skip navigation

The question I get most is, “What is the secret to losing all this weight?” To begin with, there is no secret. If you burn more calories than you consume, you will lose weight. Burn 3500 calories and you’ll lose a pound. No one loses 350 lbs at once. You lose 4 ounces at a time. 

I’ve come to the conclusion that people are looking for one of two answers. They want to hear that I’ve had gastric bypass surgery. I think they are looking for justification why I can make this apparent change when they have struggled. It’s more about their insecurities than really wanting to know what I did.

I believe the other answer they want is “the secret”. They want me to shift my eyes back and forth, reach in my pocket, come out with a pill, and in a whisper of a voice state, “Don’t tell anyone, but take this pill—and whatever you do, don’t take more than one a month or you will end up looking like Kate Moss.”

What I want to say is, “It’s really easy, you just need to eat a small carrot stick covered in kerosene every morning…and don’t worry you really learn to like it.” Better yet, I should just say, “The secret? Recycled urine.” and just turn and walk away.

It’s kind of sad that human nature has reached the point that we are always looking for the easy answer. What happened to rolling up your sleeves and working hard to get what you want? I think there is a certain satisfaction in setting a goal and achieving it.

Once I made the decision to lose the weight, it somehow became a simple process. Instead of looking for “the secret”, I started to look for ways to increase my weight loss process and not the excuse to put it off for another day. I think the real secret is just unlocking your potential and ability to make the change. The hardest part of losing the weight was getting started, and I don’t mean going on a diet. I mean just making up my mind to do it. Once that happened the rest really did fall into place. I formed a basic plan (which I have continued to modify) and made up my decision. I have to admit, I was not the most disciplined guy. If I were, I wouldn’t have gotten to 600lbs in the first place. 

With the right direction, the human mind is an amazing thing.

Paul

Leave a Reply

