Skip navigation

One of the seven deadly sins is Envy. According to the site wordnet.princeton.edu, the definition of Envy is “a feeling of grudging admiration and desire to have something that is possessed by another.”

I bring this up today because in the past, I have suffered from this sin. I used to hate to see people that were able to lose the kind of weight I have lost. I was so envious. It just pointed a big bright flashing flood light on my inability to do the same thing. I never felt that way about the people that were always fit. I always just figured those people were blessed with good genetics. It was my belief that they had that gift, while I was cursed with bad physical genetics (sorry Mom). It’s like the guys that possess that indescribable quality that make women flock to them. I possessed the antidote for that quality.

I was also under the belief that you can’t fight fate. Turns out, I was wrong. If you are just stubborn enough, you can fight fate, you just have to be unrelenting and determined.

I also found out from my friends that are very fit that most of them work at it. They still need to watch what they eat and they all work hard to maintain it. They all go the gym, they pay attention to not eat and drink too much. I know that everyone has a friend that always brags about how they “just can’t gain any weight no matter how much they try and eat.” They just have the metabolism that makes them burn calories like a wired ferret. You know those people, the ones you want to hit with a snow shovel in the back of the head as they are reaching for their 3rd doughnut. But, those people are few and far between and I know that old age will mostly likely catch up with them.

I would hope that other people struggling with the diet demon don’t possess this character flaw and would not be envious of me. I am far from someone that people should be looking at with envy. I have many flaws.

I would also hope that people can learn that it’s not about some type of gift or talent I seem to have. It is just plan ol’ stubbornness. I don’t like to be pushed. Human instinct is to push back. I started to look at my weight as something that was quite literally pushing on me. So, I started to fight back. I always say that anyone that sets their mind to doing it, and really wants to do it, can. I don’t possess any special skills or training.

If I had decided that instead of losing weight, I wanted to be a famous singer, let’s say the next Bob Seger or Paul Simon, I would not have a chance. First, I am tone deaf. Second, I have a voice that is not meant to sing, and lastly, I have no talent. I understand that this didn’t stop Bob Dylan, but he is the exception that proves the rule.

The good news is that you don’t need a talent to lose weight. This was one of the biggest “ah ha” moments I had through this experience. You can use that negative energy and quality of being stubborn positively.

I certainly don’t want to make anyone feel bad about their situation. I think about it when people bring up my weight loss. I don’t want to turn into one of those obnoxious reformed smokers that tells everyone about how bad smoking is for them. At the same time, I don’t want to avoid it on the off chance it might make someone uncomfortable. And, some people are really interested. It’s hard to know who wants to hear it and who doesn’t. I have had many people whose body language completely changes when I start to tell them that there is no short cut…you have to put in the work if you want the benefit. Their posture changes and they really don’t want to hear it.

My dad was an off road racer in his youth. He told me when you are in a race you don’t need a rear view mirror. He said the reason is because it’s not your concern what’s behind you. It’s the guys that are following you who needs to be concerned. It’s really their problem. You just need to focus on what’s in front of you. What’s behind you doesn’t matter on the road in front of you, and keep your eye on the finish line. I plan to keep moving forward.

Paul

Leave a Reply

