Skip navigation

I have been giving a great deal of thought to re-inventing myself lately. I was thinking it would be great if you could make a huge change all at once. I would like to be better, stronger, faster, ala Steve Austin…except without the bionic replacement parts. Although, the telescopic eye would be a cool thing to have. I would have thought that since I was carrying around 350 pounds every day, I would be much stronger. The changes seem to be on a glacial movement level, so it’s not an overnight change. It’s been 4 ounces at a time.

I recently read a quote that said, “No one can go back and start a new beginning, but you can start today and make a new ending.” That pretty well sums up my life over the last 4 years. I have been creating a new ending, one that hopefully doesn’t end up with me dying on the toilet, heaving and straining Elvis style. Even though I don’t see myself running wild, wearing a faux hawk and plaid shirt while base jumping off a cliff Mountain Dew style, I do see myself not wasting any more time. I am not sure what adventures I will have, but I hope it will be interesting.

Since I turned 45 years old last July, I should announce that I am now the next generation of Paul. Paulie 2.0. That way, I can restart my age count. Since I am hoping this is only the midpoint of my life, this would just be the start of my 2nd half.

The things I would like to upgrade in Paulie 2.0 would be: 

  1. Be more open to new experiences.
  2. I would like to be tanner.
  3. I would love to become a world traveler.
  4. Legally change my middle name from Morgan to Trouble, just so I could tell people, “Trouble? Trouble is my middle name.”
  5. Be friendlier to people.
  6. Floss more often (I am sure Dr. Doyle will be glad to hear that one).
  7. Paulie 2.0 will not be referring to himself in the third person.
  8. Work on my street cred.
  9. Spend more time with my family.
  10. Stop driving a soccer mom minivan. (see #8)
  11. Tell my friends and family how much they mean to me on a regular basis.
  12. Learn patience…right now.
  13. Be able to accept a complement and give myself some credit.
  14. Purchase a briefcase that I could carry handcuffed to my wrist, because that would be cool.
  15. Live more in the moment.

As I have changed into Paulie 2.0, I have been taking stock. I used to think I was the same guy I have always been, at least personality-wise and spiritually. Now that I look around, I come to the conclusion that I am not. It’s hard to know if I have been getting better or not. I hope I am, but I do seem more at ease with myself and just feel better in general.

Leave a Reply

